Zimbabwe Tour: Ajinkya Rahane to lead, Bhajji stages an ODI comeback



Ajinkya Rahane : India skipper for the Zimbabwe  tour
Ajinkya Rahane : India skipper for the Zimbabwe tour

The BCCI has announced a  15-member second string India squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour. Stylish batsman Ajinkya Rahane, will lead the team, as seniors MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma were rested. The senior players were not keen to travel to Zimbabwe, citing fatigue.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was dropped from the squad after a string of poor scores in the recently-concluded Bangladesh tour. Jadeja has been out of form in the couple of  tournaments, yet he was given umpteen number of chances by the team management; but he failed to fire. However, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was recalled in the ODI team, after a gap of four years. Bhajji had recently made his return to the Test side.

The team will play 3 ODIs and 2 T20s on the tour of Zimbabwe, starting July 10. The tour is an apt opportunity for the fringe players to press for national team selection

India Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Murali Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Harbhajan Singh, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.