Uttar Pradesh by polls : Setback for SP, BJP and Congress register important wins



BJP and Congress have a lot to cheer with UP bypoll results 2016
BJP and Congress have a lot to cheer with UP bypoll results 2016

In the much talked about  Uttar Pradesh bypolls of 2016 ,  the BJP wrested the crucial Muzaffarnagar seat from the ruling Samajwadi Party. The SP held the riot hit  Muzaffarnagar seat since the year 2012. Rubbing more salts into their wounds  was the party even losing the  Deoband seat to the Congress when the results were finally announced  announced.

The bypoll results are being viewed as crucial in the countdown to the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh next year.  For SP , the losses are certainly not a good news  whose decline has already begun across the state. The party managed to win in only Bikapur.

While BJP’s Kapil Dev Agarwal has won from the Muzffarnagar seat, Mavia Ali of Congress won the Deoband defeating SP candidate Meena Rana.

SP’s Anand Sen Yadav is leading in Bikapur over his nearest rival RLD candidate Munna Singh Chauhan. The by-elections were necessitated in Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikapur due to death of of SP MLAs Chitranjan Swaroop, Rajendra Singh Rana and Mitrasen Yadav last year.

Gaurav Swaroop was the SP candidate from Muzaffarnagar, while Anandsen Yadav and Meena Rana were the party candidates from Bikapur and Deoband seat.

The SP lost  both seats in western UP  , areas that has seen rising communal tensions, especially over beef eating in recent times .  The losses it seems have exposed the SP government’s poor handling of the tricky situation.