UP: BSP Lists Candidates for 2014 Polls, Seeks Brahmin Vote

BSP supremo Mayawati. File Photo
BSP supremo Mayawati. File Photo

Lucknow 18 April: BSP in its zeal to placate Brahmins ahead of 2014 Parliament Elections has fielded Pawan Pandey from Sultanpur Lok Sabha seat. Pandey is an accused in the Babri Masjid demolition case and was charge sheeted by the CBI. He is also the former MLA from Shiv Sena.  BJP General Secretary Varun Gandhi is most likely to contest from this seat.

BSP is resurrecting the social engineering formula of Sarvasamaj for wooing Brahmins. Of the 36 candidates announced today, as much as 50 percent are Brahmins.

Rakeshdhar Tripathi, former Higher Education Minister in previous BSP government was given ticket from Mirzapur. BSP denied him party ticket in 2012 State Assembly polls. He contested the elections as an independent candidate and had lost.

The list of Lok Sabha candidates for 2014 Parliament Elections was released by Mayawati after a convention of Brahmins was organised at the residence of Satish Mishra, Rajya Sabha MP and ‘Brahmin mascot’ of the BSP.  Samajwadi Party has already announced seventy one candidates of the total eighty Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Addressing a press conference, Mayawati said, “I am a stubborn person – whether I am in power or not, I will continue to fight for Sarvasamaj.” Mayawati has resurrected the social engineering of winning the Brahmins ahead of 2014 elections. Brahmins had voted for BSP in significant number in 2007 catapulting the BSP to attain simple majority in Uttar Pradesh.

“Brahmins were misguided in 2012 Assembly Elections, now they are with BSP along with other upper castes. Upper castes are cursing the day they voted for SP,” Mayawati said.

Other prominent Brahmin candidates in BSP include Seema Upadhaya, MP from Fatehpur Sikri. She is the wife of tainted BSP leader Ramveer Upadhaya, indicted by Lokayukta in charges of corruption. Ramveer’s brother Mukul Upadhaya has been given ticket from the Ghaziabad seat which is currently represented by BJP President Rajnath Singh.

Former Minister Nakul Dubey has been given ticket from Lucknow, while Rajya Sabha member Brajesh Pathak would contest from the Unnao seat.  Other sitting Lok Sabha members who were given tickets are,  Kushal Tiwari (Khalilabad), Rakesh Pandey (Akbarpur), Gorakhnath Pandey (Bhadoi) and Kapilmuni Kanwariya (Phoolpur).  In Deoria, BSP has replaced GP Jaiswal with Kamlesh Shukla and KK Ojha.

RK Choudhury, who recently re-joined the party, has been given ticket from Mohanlalganj seat in Lucknow. He is a prominent leader of the Pasi community which is a dominant dalit community in UP.  Ummaid Singh, husband of Phoolan Devi would be contesting from Shahjahanpur.

Previous articleBig Guns Race for the Top Job
Next articleElection rigging that borders on farce
Special Correspondent (Lucknow)

Virendra Nath Bhatt is a post graduate in Economics. Started career as journalist in 1982, by contributing for a couple of Hindi dailies of Lucknow and Bareilly and also Jansatta of Delhi. Joined the English daily `The Pioneer in 1990 and later shifted to National Herald. After one year joined as correspondent for the Onlooker Magazine published from Bombay in 1991. In 1995 again joined The Pioneer in 1995 and worked till 2007. In December joined Indian Express Luck now. In September 2011 joined Tehelka. Bhatt has extensively covered parliament and assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh since 1985 and also the Ramjanma Bhoomi-Babri Masjid dispute in Ayodhya and the movement for social justice – the social strife against the implementation of the Mandal commission report in August 1990.


  1. By fielding Pawan Pandey what message Mayawati is sending to her Muslim supporters.Is she convinced that her Muslim voters have deserted her and have mobilized under SP?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.