To take on BJP, Mulayam Singh Yadav to lead six united parties of Janata Parivar

Mulayam Singh Yadav
Mulayam Singh Yadav , Photo: AP

In the newly formed party after the merger of six parties of the former Janata Parivar, Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav will lead the party which will take on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the upcoming Bihar Assembly election 2015.

The name and flag of the newly formed party hasn’t yet been decided. However, a six-member committee including former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, Lalu Prasad Yadav, Sharad Yadav and Ramgopal Yadav has been formed and will decide.

“The name of party, symbol and flag will be decided after taking into consideration views of presidents of all six parties,” Sharad Yadav said.

The new party is formed after the merger of Samajwadi Pariwar, the Janata Dal (United), the Rashtriya Janata Dal, the Janata Dal (Secular), the Samajwadi Janata Party and the Indian National Lok Dal.

“SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav will lead the new political party and its parliamentary board committee,” said Janata Dal United leader Sharad Yadav, addressing a press conference.

“The decision of the new political group was unanimously taken by the leaders of JDU, SP, RJD, SJP, JDS and INLD,” he added.

Earlier this month, announcing the merger, RJD chief Lalu Prasad said, “Merger means merger. Only one symbol and no other shall remain because different symbols will create confusion among the public. We will also ask other secular parties to join the new party to combat communalism.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.