The movement for Telangana state: A brief chronology


[Timeline year=”1948,1950,1952,1953,1955,1956,1969,1972,1973,1985,1999,2001,2004,2006,2008,2009,2010,2011,2012,2013″]

[timeline-content year=”1948″ img=”” ]
17 September:The erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad, which included the region known as Telangana, was merged with the Indian Union[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1950″ img=”” ]
26 January: The Central government appointed a civil servant, MK Vellodi, as the first chief minister of Hyderabad state[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1952″ img=”×500.jpg” ]
Burgula Ramakrishna Rao became the first elected chief minister of Hyderabad[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1953″ img=”” ]
1 November: Andhra became the first state to be carved out on a linguistic basis, comprising the Telugu-speaking areas earlier under the erstwhile Madras state. Kurnool (in the Rayalaseema region) became the capital of Andhra after the death of Potti Sriramulu, who had sat on a 53-day fast-unto-death demanding the new state.

There was a proposal to merge the Hyderabad state with Andhra. The then chief minister of Hyderabad state, Burgula Ramakrishna Rao, supported the Congress central leadership’s decision in this regard, despite opposition in the Telangana region.[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1955″ img=”” ]
25 November: Accepting the merger proposal, the Andhra Assembly passed a resolution promising to safeguard the interests of Telangana[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1956″ img=”×500.jpg” ]
20 February: Leaders from Telangana and Andhra agreed to merge Telangana and Andhra with promises to safeguard Telangana’s interests. A “Gentlemen’s Agreement” was then signed by Bezawada Gopala Reddy and Burgula Ramakrishna Rao to that effect

1 November: Andhra Pradesh was formed under the States Reorganisation Act, 1956, by merging the Telugu-speaking areas of Hyderabad state with Andhra. The city of Hyderabad, which was the capital of Hyderabad state, was made the capital of Andhra Pradesh[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1969″ img=”” ]
An agitation began in Telangana region, with the people protesting against the failure to properly implement the Gentlemen’s Agreement and other safeguards. Marri Channa Reddy launched the Telangana Praja Samiti to demand a separate state. The agitation intensified and turned violent with students in the forefront of the struggle. Around 300 protesters were killed in the ensuing violence and police firing

12 April: Following several rounds of talks with leaders of the two regions, the then prime minister Indira Gandhi came up with an “eight-point plan”. Telangana leaders rejected the plan and protests continued under the aegis of Telangana Praja Samiti[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1972″ img=”” ]
Jai Andhra movement started in the Andhra and Rayalaseema regions as a counter to the Telangana struggle[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1973″ img=”” ]
21 September: A political settlement was reached with the Centre and a 6-point formula put in place to placate people of the two regions[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1985″ img=”” ]
Employees from Telangana cried foul over appointments in government departments and complained about ‘injustice’ done to the people of the region. The then Telugu Desam Party (TDP) government, headed by NT Rama Rao, brought out a government order to safeguard the interests of Telangana’s people in matters of government employment[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”1999″ img=”” ]
The Congress demanded creation of Telangana state. Congress was then smarting under crushing defeats in successive elections to the state Assembly and Parliament with the ruling TDP in an unassailable position[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”2001″ img=”” ]
27 April: Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, who was seething over denial of Cabinet berth in the Chandrababu Naidu government, walked out of the TDP and launched the Telangana Rashtra Samiti.

Following pressure applied by the Telangana Congress leaders, the Central Working Committee of the Congress sent a resolution to the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government seeking constitution of a second States Reorganisation Commission to look into the demand for Telangana state. It was rejected by the then Union home minister LK Advani, who said smaller states were “neither viable nor conducive” to the integrity of the country

[timeline-content year=”2004″ img=”” ]
The Congress forged an electoral alliance with the TRS by promising to create Telangana state and came to power both in Andhra Pradesh and at the Centre. The TRS became its coalition partner in the state and at the Centre[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”2006″ img=”” ]
Protesting delay in carving out the separate state, the TRS quit the coalition governments in the state and at the Centre[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”2008″ img=”” ]
October: The TDP changed its stance and declared support for bifurcation of the state[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”2009″ img=”” ]
29 November: The TRS launched an indefinite hunger strike demanding the creation of Telangana state.

9 December: The Centre announced that it was “initiating the process for formation of Telangana state”.

23 December: The Centre announced that it was putting the Telangana issue on hold, leading to protests across Telangana. Some students committed suicide demanding the formation of Telangana state

[timeline-content year=”2010″ img=”” ]
3 February: The Centre constituted a five-member committee, headed by former judge, Justice BN Srikrishna, to look into the statehood demand.

30 December: The Srikrishna Committee submitted its report to the Centre.

[timeline-content year=”2011″ img=”” ]
The Telangana region witnessed a series of agitations, including the Million March, Chalo Assembly and Sakalajanula Samme (general strike), even as MLAs belonging to different parties resigned[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”2012″ img=”” ]
28 December: With Congress MPs from Telangana upping the ante, the Union home ministry convened an all-party meeting to find an “amicable solution” to the crisis[/timeline-content]

[timeline-content year=”2013″ img=”” ]
30 July: CWC clears Telangana, Hyderabad to be joint capital for now

3 October: Cabinet clears formation of Telangana, Hyderabad to be joint capital for 10 years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.