Seat-sharing pact with DMK for Tamil Nadu polls finalised; Cong to contest 41 seats


Karunanidhi and Azad

Ending intense speculations over the last weeks, Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam (DMK) on 4 April gave as many as 41 seats to its alliance partner Congress to contest during the 16 May Assembly election.

There are as many as 234 seats in the Tamil Nadu Assembly. The seat-sharing deal was finalised on 4 April after Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad visited DMK leader M Karunanidhi at his residence.

The discussions to identify the constituencies each of them would contest will begin later Monday.

“The party has signed a pact with DMK chief K Karunanidhi which states that 41 seats have been allotted to Congress to fight during the polls,” said Azad.

“Led by  Karunanidhi, we had two meetings and signed the deal. I am sure that under Sonia Gandhi at the national level, and Karunanidhi at the state level, we will be able to form the government.” said Azad, according to the Hinduatan Times.

Jointly addressing reporters along with his colleague Mukul Wasnkik, TNCC chief EVKS Elangovan and DMK leaders led by party treasurer MK Stalin, Azad said they would work to win the polls.

Referring to the discussions, Stalin said, “it has been decided on 4 April that Congress will contest on 41 seats as part of the DMK front.” He said they are confident of “driving out” AIADMK from the seat of power. “We are confident we will achieve it,” he said.