SC removes Anurag Thakur, Ajay Shirke as BCCI president, secy


Anurag ThakurIn a ruling, the Supreme Court on January 2 removed BCCI president Anurag Thakur and secretary Ajay Shirke from their posts, saying they should forthwith cease from doing the board’s work.

The court also decided to begin contempt proceedings against Thakur by seeking his response as to why he shouldn’t be held liable for hampering the reforming process to be implemented in the BCCI.

A bench headed by Chief Justice TS Thakur, Justice AM Khanwilkar and Justice DY Chandrachud said the BCCI’s working will be looked after by a panel of administrators. In this regard, the SC asked senior advocates Fali S Nariman and Gopal Subramanian to help the court in nominating persons of integrity as panel members.

The bench also said Nariman and Subramanian will complete the task in two weeks and the matter for passing the direction for nominating the persons in committee of administrators will be taken up on January 19.

It clarified that till the new administrators take over the BCCI’s working, the senior most vice president will act as the president and the present joint secretary will assume the work as secretary.

The SC directed all office-bearers of BCCI and state bodies to give an undertaking that they will abide by the court’s directions. It warned that those who fail to meet the norms of the Lodha panel shall demit the post and cease to be office-bearers.

It has been made clear that as per the Lodha panel’s recommendations, no person above 70 years, unsound mind, ministers, government servant, convicted persons and those who have held the posts for cumulative period of nine years and those who are part of any other sports bodies shall be eligible to hold any position in the cricket bodies.