SC refuses to modify its order, to send 3 members to ICC meet


Supreme CourtThe Supreme Court on February 1 refused to modify its order and observed that all three members who have been nominated by it—Vikram Limaye, Amit Choudhury, and Anirudh Chaudhary—will attend the International Cricket Council (ICC) meeting in Dubai from February 2 to 5.

Advocate Kapil Sibal, appearing for Tamil Nadu Cricket Association, said out of the three persons, only Limaye was to attend the meeting and that this was against the very tenets of the SC order. A bench headed by Justice Dipak Misra said it would hear the matter at 2 pm.

The bench, headed by Justice Misra, then ordered BCCI to inform the ICC that all three members enjoy the same status and should be allowed to attend the meeting.

As per ICC rules, one member of a cricket board can represent the body in the meeting.

On January 30, the SC had appointed a four-member panel to run the affairs of the BCCI and implement the reforms recommended by the Lodha panel. The other three panel members included historian Ramachandra Guha, IDFC MD Vikram Limaye, and former Indian women’s cricket captain Diana Edulji.

The Lodha committee refused to intervene in the matter stating that the conflict is between the BCCI and the ICC and they didn’t want to interfere.

Also, the COA will place before the court in four weeks the report about the Lodha panel’s reforms to be implemented in the BCCI.