Railway employees to hold indefinite strike from 11 July

Protest demonstration by railway employees in New Delhi.
Protest demonstration by railway employees in New Delhi.

Employees of Indian Railway will hold an indefinite strike from 11 July protesting against NDA government’s economic policies.

To this end, the Employees Unions of Indian Rail has served notices to the General Managers of all 19 Zones on 10 June. The National Joint Council of Action (NJCA) has given the call for the indefinite strike.

Apart from causing inconvenience to passengers, especially daily ones, the stir will also cause huge loss to the country’s economy in terms of revenue.

It may be noted that  such a strike in Railways was last organised witnessed in 1974 under the leadership of socialist leader Jaiprakash Narain.

Thousands of Railway workers on 10 June opposed the recommendations of the seventh Central Pay Commission and in support of their 11-point Charter of demands and non-settlement of their pending demands.

Northern Railway Men’s Union and Uttriya Railway Mazdoor Union staged a protest demonstration at Baroda House, the office of the General Manager, Northern Railway.

NJCA convener and All India Railwaymen Federation General Secretary, Shiva Gopal Mishra said, “There is resentment among the central government employees and rail employees against the Pay Commission’s recommendations and non-settlement of their long pending pay scale demands.”

He added, “We also met the Cabinet Secretary on 1 March. He asked us to be patient due to the model Code of Conduct imposed in five states, but to no avail.”

Serving strike notice to General Manager, Northern Railways, AK Puthia, he said, “A last opportunity has been given to the government to settle our demands and avoid confrontation.” Their 11-point demands have also been submitted to Puthia. 

Disclosing their strategy, Mishra said all affiliates of trade and employees’ unions of JCM have served strike notices to concerned Zonal GMs/Administrative Officers and other organisations to proceed on the indefinite strike from 11 July 2016.