Poll body allots electric pole symbol to OPS, hat to Sasikala


ECFreezing the party’s two leaves symbol and barring the use of AIADMK name, the Election Commission on March 23 allotted ‘electric pole’ as OPS faction’s symbol, while the Sasikala faction got a ‘hat’ as its symbol.

This is not all, the two factions virtually fought to get Jayalalithaa’s legacy by adding Amma name to their faction. The EC directed that henceforth O Pannerselvam’s faction would be known as Puratchi Thalaivi AIADMK, while Sasikala’s faction known as Amma AIADMK.

It may be noted Jayalalithaa was known as Puratchi Thalaivi (revolutionary leader) in Tamil.

Both factions can again file their case before April 17, said the EC. Stating that due to lack of time, the EC stated its decision was only temporary and not a final one.

The upcoming RK Nagar by-election (Jayalalithaa’s assembly seat) would mark two poll debuts—Sasikala’s nephew and party’s deputy general secretary TTV Dinakaran and Jayalalithaa’s niece Deepa Jayakumar.

For the by-poll, whose result will be declared on April 15, the model code of conduct will be applicable for the entire Chennai district, stated the EC.

Filing of nominations would begin on March 16 and end on March 23, stated the EC. The last date for withdrawals is March 27.