National honour for the best in cinema

Kangana Ranaut bagged best actress award for her performance in ‘Queen’.

It is regarded as one of the most-awaited film ceremonies in our country. Honouring the best in cinema, the 62nd National Film Awards saw many big names being awarded by President Pranab Mukherjee at the Vigyan Bhawan’s Plenary Hall, recently.

The awards, considered to be the highest in the country in the field of entertainment, were announced on March 24 this year. Other than the who’s who of the entertainment industry from all over the country present to attend the ceremony, Arun Jaitley, minister of information and broadcasting, finance and corporate affairs and Rajyavardhan Rathore, minister of state for information and broadcasting were also present to give away the awards.

Among the popular names who bagged the national awards was Kangana Ranaut. She fetched her Best Actress award for her performance in ‘Queen’. Ditching the traditional saree that most actresses wear at award ceremonies, Ranaut wore a mauve gown for the event. Needless to say, she looked stunning. ‘Queen’ also got the Best Hindi Film Award, which was collected by its director, Vikas Bahl.

Winning in the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment category was ‘Mary Kom’ starring Priyanka Chopra, directed by Omung Kumar.

The other highlight of the event was the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, which is India’s highest award in cinema and that was being given to veteran actor Shashi Kapoor for his cinematic journey. Although, Kapoor was not able to collect the award in person owing to health issues.

Bagging the maximum honour in the award ceremony was the film ‘Haider’. Present at the function was Vishal Bhardwaj, the Director of the film who took home the Best Screenplay award for ‘Haider’. Sukhwinder Singh received Best Playback Singer (male) award for his award-winning track ‘Bismil’ from the same film. Adding to the list was Dolly Ahluwalia, who won the Best Costume Designer award. The film also fetched the Best Choreography award for the song ‘Bismil’.

On the other hand, Uthara Unnikrishnan won the Best Playback Singer (female) award for the song ‘Azhage’ from the film ‘Saivam’, while child actor Parth Bhalerao got the Special Jury award for ‘Killa’ and ‘Bhoothnath Returns’.

Amongst the regional films, Best Assamese Film went to Othello, Best Bengali Film went to Nirbashito, Best Kannada Film went to Harivu, Best Konkani Film went to Nachom – IA Kumpasar, Best Malayalam Film award was given to Ain, Best Marathi Film award was given to Killa, Best Odiya Film went to Aadim Vichar, Best Punjabi Film award went to Punjab 1984, Best Tamil Film award was given to Kuttram Kadithal, Best Telugu Film award went to Chandamama Kathalu and the Best Haryanvi Film award went to Pagdi The Honour.

Whereas, the award for Best Educational Film was given to Komal and Behind the Glass Wall. Award for the Best Exploration/Adventure Film went to Life, Force – India’s Western Ghats, Best Investigative Film was given to Phum Shang, Best Animation Film went to Sound of Joy, Best Short Fiction Film went to Mitraa, Best Film Critic award went to Tanul Thakur and the Best Direction award was given to Srijit Mukherji for his Bengali film Chotushkone.

Best Supporting Actress award was bagged by Baljinder Kaur for the film Pagdi The Honour, Best Supporting Actor award was bagged by Bobby Simhaa for the film Jigarthanda and the Best Actor award was given to Vijay for the Kannada film, Nanu Avanalla Avalu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.