Mumbai 7/11 Blast Case: Court To Pronounce Quantum Of Punishment

7/11 Mumbai train blasts
7/11 Mumbai train blasts

A special MCOCA court will decide on the quantum of sentence against the 12 convicted of the 13 accused in the July 11, 2006 Mumbai suburban train bombings case that killed 188 people and injured over 800, today, after the court hears the arguments on the quantum of punishment.

On Friday, a Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) court had convicted 12 persons in the serial blasts case, nine years after seven RDX bombs kept in Mumbai suburban trains exploded killing 188 people.

The 12 accused who were convicted in the case are: Kamal Ahamed Ansari (37), Tanvir Ahmed Ansari (37), Mohd Faisal Shaikh (36), Ehtesham Siddiqui (30), Mohammad Majid Shafi (32), Shaikh Alam Shaikh (41), Mohd Sajid Ansari (34), Muzzammil Shaikh (27), Soheil Mehmood Shaikh (43), Zamir Ahmad Shaikh (36), Naveed Hussain Khan (30) and Asif Khan (38). The accused were found guilty of charges under IPC, Explosives Act, Unlawful Activities Prevention Act, Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act and Indian Railway Act and those under (MCOCA).

On July 11, 2006, a series of explosions killed 189 commuters and injured 824. The 13 arrested, were booked under various stringent charges which include conspiracy and waging war against the nation. They were arrested between July 20, 2006 and October 3, 2006 by the Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS).

The seven powerful bombs went off in trains at Matunga Road, Mahim, Bandra, Khar Road, Jogeshwari, Borivali and Mira Road stations spanning Mumbai and Thane districts. ATS had claimed that the suspects were Pakistan’s ISI, Lashkar-e-Taiba and the banned SIMI, who were involved in the conspiracy, planning and execution of the terror attacks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.