Mizoram: Cong declares list of candidates for 25 Nov elections

Photo: PTI
Photo: PTI

Aizawl, 2 Nov (PTI): The Congress re-nominated all its sitting 32 MLAs except two legislators for elections to the 40-member Mizoram Assembly and said that it would contest the state polls alone and would put up candidates in all the seats.

Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla would contest from two seats – his home turf Serchhip constituency and also from neighbouring Hrangturzo seat in Serchhip district in the coming election to to be held on 25 November as per the candidate list announced by the party. Presently the Hrangturzo seat is held by Lalthansanga of the Mizoram’s People’s Conference.

The Congress, which bagged 32 seats in the 2008 assembly polls, re-nominated all its MLAs except Revenue and Excise Minister J H Rothuama and former minister Nirupam Chakma.

In place of Rothuama, state PCC Mahila president TBC Tlangthanmawii would contest from the Aizawl West – I, while Chakma would be replaced at Tuichawng seat by the present Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) BD Chakma. Home Minister R Lalzirliana, Finance Minister H Liansailova and Assembly Speaker R Romawia will contest from Tawi, Aizawl North-II and Aizawl North-I respectively.

Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF), MPC and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) combine have announced 12 candidates and the rest would be announced on 4 November. The Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) will also announce its official nominees on 4 November.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.