Left will contest against Jaya, as DMK to boycott poll



Even as other major parties including the arch-rival DMK, MDMK, VCK, and NDA ally PMK decided not to field their candidates in the bypoll election against Jayalalithaa, the Communist Party of India (CPI) has announced that the left party will contest in the R K Nagar Assembly bypoll against the chief minister.

Though the party is yet to announce its candidate, other ideological siblings of the party, including the CPI(M), are expected to back the move, as senior leaders of both CPI and CPI(M) held a meeting before the decision was declared.

“It has been decided unanimously at a meeting held today with CPI(M) leaders that our party will field a candidate and Marxists will extend full support to our nominee,” said CPI State secretary R Mutharasan.

The decision to field a left candidate against Jayalalithaa is considered by many as important as other major parties including arch-rival DMK has decided to boycott the poll, to be held on June 27.

Mutharasan said, “The name of our party candidate will be announced in a day or two.”

Mutharasan said though his party will not seek support from Congress and BJP, the party will think about other possibilities.

Besides Mutharasan, senior CPI leader Veerapandian and former MLA Periasamy, participated in the meeting. G Ramakrishnan and sitting MLA A Soundararajan were among those who represented the CPI (M).

Meanwhile, DMK leader and M Karunanidhi’s daughter, Kanimozhi, on Thursday said, her party’s decision to boycott the by-election was to register her party’s opposition to alleged misuse of government machinery by the government.

“You have been witnessing how the bypolls are being held. Everyone knows how the government machinery is misused. We are boycotting the bypoll to show our opposition to this,” she told reporters in Chennai.

Not only DMK, but several other ‘important’ political parties, including PMK, MDMK and VCK, were also boycotting it, the DMK MP added.

The RK Nagar seat here fell vacant on May 17 after AIADMK’s P Vetrivel, resigned following the acquittal of Jayalalithaa on May 11 by the Karnataka High Court, in the disproportionate assets case.

Meanwhile, the filing of nominations for the RK Nagar bypoll began on Wednesday, with five independent candidates filling their nominations on day 1.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.