Jayalalithaa sworn in as Tamil Nadu CM for second consecutive term

j jayalalithaa
AIADMK supremo and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) supremo J Jayalalithaa on 23 May was sworn in as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu at 12 noon. The oath-taking ceremony was held at the Madras University Centenary Auditorium in Chennai.

Apart from her, Tamil Nadu Governor K Rosaiah administered the oath of office to 28 ministers, 13 of them new faces. Among those who have accepted the AIADMK’s invitation was MK Stalin of DMK.

Jayalalithaa’s AIADMK has won for a second consecutive time in the assembly polls, a feat which has so far been one by her mentor, MGR.

Union urban development minister Venkaiah Naidu attended the oath-taking ceremony on behalf of the central government.

According to media houses, Jayalalithaa has kept important portfolios such as police, home and general administration with her, while O Paneerselvam, a Jayalalithaa loyalist, was given the finance portfolio.

Security was tightened at the venue and according to party sources, public in droves attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Meanwhile, after taking over as CM, Jayalalithaa took the first step towards fulfilling her poll promise of prohibition, in phases, in Tamil Nadu. She has announced 500 Tamil Nadu State Marketing Corporation  shops will be closed. These shops will be open from 12 noon to10 pm.