Janata Parivar to contest 100 seats in Bihar Assembly polls


Janta Parivar

RJD and JD(U) seem to have finally agreed over seat-sharing and the chief ministerial candidate for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Bihar. The formal announcement of the chief ministerial candidate, election symbol and flag of the Janata Parivar will be announced soon.

While Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar would be the unified party’s CM nominee RJD president Lalu Prasad might become the party convener. Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav has already been named as leader of the new party, which  is likely to be named Samajwadi Janata Dal.
It is learnt that the party flag would have a green stripe in between two red stripes, with a bicycle at the centre.

JD(U) president Sharad Yadav has emerged as the unanimous choice for the unified party’s floor leader in the Rajya Sabha, while RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui could be the Bihar unit’s president.
Samajwadi Party, RJD, JD(U), JD(S), Samajwadi Janata Party and INLD have joined hands to form a bigger party to take on the BJP.

An RJD source said: “We have agreed on Nitish Kumar as the party’s CM candidate, despite resentment from some quarters. He is the most credible face and could be our USP against the NDA.”

Meanwhile, RJD and JD(U) leaders have tentatively agreed to contest 100 seats each, leaving 43 seats for possible alliance partners Congress and CPI.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.