IPL rejig’s with players draft: Dhoni, Rahane in Pune, Raina, Jadeja boost Rajkot



Mahendra Singh Dhoni, From Chennai to Pune  now in IPL 2016
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, From Chennai to Pune now in IPL 2016

There  was big buzz as to which two  news teams  in the IPL 2016 – Pune and Rajkot will bid for the Likes of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane, Brendon McCullum, James Faulkner, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Watson , Dwayne Bravo  . After all these were the big names in the two teams there were suspended – Chennai Super Kings and  Rajasthan Royals.

As per the IPL draft the cricketers from the two suspended franchises were divided into two groups of capped and uncapped and the top names will be sold through the draft system. The two new teams will have a minimum of Rs 40 crore and a maximum of Rs 66 crore to buy the players in the pool.

Sanjeev Goenka’s New Rising won the bid for the Pune franchise while Intex won the bid for Rajkot after a reverse bidding process held in Delhi on December 8 to replace suspended teams Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for the next two editions to be held in 2016 and 2017. The addition of new teams  was necessary as two teams CSK and RR were banned by the Justice Lodha committee for two years for their wrong doings. IPL 2016 players draft saw  Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina now become rivals from team-mates. MSD will play for Pune while Raina turns out for Rajkot

Pune were given the choice to pick the players first because they were the lowest bidders (negative bids) to buy the new team for two years in the draft held at the Mumbai Cricket Association’s recereation centre at the Bandra Kurla Complex.
As  per the tender for the two new teams, the first capped player would be paid Rs 12.5 crore while the remaining four capped players are to get Rs 9.5 crore, Rs 7.5 crore, Rs 5.5 crore, and Rs 4 crore respectively. Uncapped players can be picked for a stipulated fee of Rs 4 crore. The ninth edition of the IPL is scheduled from April 9 to May 29, 2016.

And after the draft of the teams were done . The suspense was truly over and revealed as to which player was headed where:

Pune: It  got India’s ODI and Twenty20 skipper MS Dhoni, prolific Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Australian skipper Steve Smith and South Africa’s Twenty20  Skipper Faf du Plessis
Rajkot: Roped in  Suresh Raina, local lad  Ravindra Jadeja, New Zealand skipper the aggressive Brendon McCullum, Aussie all- rounder James Faulkner and West Indian Dwayne Bravo

With MS Dhoni in Pune team . It is almost certain that one of the IPL’s greatest players  and India’s ODI and Twenty20 skipper will lead the team. It would be a huge surprise if MSD does not lead the side.

Rajkot, on the other hand  might  pick Suresh Raina as the skipper if the owners stick to the Indian skipper angle. Otherwise New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum  is a strong contender to lead the  side . Rajkot meanwhile is set to get  its IPL flavour and its very own player in  Ravindra Jadeja to cheer about .

As per the rules of picking players , each team gets to pick five players  from a players draft of 50 players. Those not picked will be up for grabs at the IPL auction on Feb 6 , 2016