India clubbed with arch rivals Pakistan in group A of the SAFF Suzuki Cup 2015



Indian football Team during training
Indian football Team during training

Hosts and six-time winners India have been drawn into Group A for the SAFF Suzuki Cup 2015, the draw for which took place at a snazzy Hotel in New Delhi. Besides India, the other Teams in Group A include Nepal, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.  Meanwhile, defending Champions Afghanistan were clubbed with Maldives, Bhutan and Bangladesh in Group B.

The ninth edition of SAFF Suzuki Cup will take place in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, from December 23, 2015 to January 03, 2016. Top two finishing Teams from each group will progress into the Semi-final stage of the competition.  For the record, India have reached the Finals of the SAFF Championship for a record number of eight times.

Speaking on the occasion, All India Football Federation’s General Secretary Kushal Das said, “The SAFF Championship is always one of the most important events in the South Asian Football calendar”

“The Championship has become more competitive as the years have progressed. And I hope that this year’s Championship which is being held in one of the Football hubs of India, Trivandrum, turns out to be engrossing and interesting”  “One of the highlights of the SAFF Championship has been the emergence of Afghanistan as a Footballing nation”, Das informed.

Group A: India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Pakistan.

The SAFF Suzuki Cup 2015 fixtures for India are as follows:

December 23: India v Pakistan

December 25: Sri Lanka v India

December 27: India v Nepal


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.