In a JD(U) coup, Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi is expelled

Mahadalit assertion Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi
Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi

Following the political clash in Bihar, the Janata Dal(United) has in a rather dramatic move expelled chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi from party membership for defying the party’s code of conduct. “JD(U) President Sharad Yadav has dismissed Jitan Manjhi from party’s primary membership due to indiscipline and anti-party activities,” said JD(U) general secretary KC Tyagi.

The chief minister was expelled from the party membership after he denied resigning from the CM’s post. “Article 3 of the JD(U) Constitution gives this special power to the party President under which he can appoint or expel anybody,” party general secretary K C Tyagi said addressing a press conference.

“The Bihar crisis was scripted in Delhi. Operation Jitan Ram Manjhi has been engineered by (BJP chief) Amit Shah and it has PM Modi’s blessings. The tone that Manjhi had used after meeting the PM cannot be that of a minority chief minister,” alleged KC Tyagi.

 But, the Bihar chief minister claims that no politics was discussed in the meeting which lasted 40 minutes. “I did not discuss politics with him. Modiji has done some good work for Bihar and we thanked him for that,” said Jitan Ram Manjhi

The Janata Dal (United) leader Nitish Kumar also met Governor KN Tripathi and staked claim to the chief minister’s post by parading 130 MLAs from his party, RJD and Congress who support him. “We told the governor that all the legislators were at the gate of his house with their identity cards and he could count them. We asked him to take a decision immediately. We are ready to prove majority on the floor of the assembly as soon as he wants,” said Nitish Kumar

 Moreover, the ruling party also demanded the installation of a Nitish Kumar-led government within 48 hours. The party has also reportedly booked 140 seats on a flight to Delhi , where it has sought an appointment with President Pranab Mukherjee to demonstrate support for the former chief minister.

 The ruling JD(U) has 111 legislators in the 243-seat Bihar assembly. Of the 243 seats, it has now only 233 members as nine members have been disqualified and one member of the BJP died recently.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.