Hyderabad twin blasts case: NIA court convicts 5 IM terrorists


yashin bhatkalA special National Investigation Agency (NIA) court in Hyderabad has convicted five Indian Mujahideen (IM) terrorists in the Dilsukhnagar blasts in 2013. This is the first time the Indian Mujahideen (IM) cadre have been convicted.

The quantum of punishment will be announced on December 19. The five IM terrorists have been tried under Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, Explosives Substances Act and other sections of Indian Penal Code.

IM co-founder Yasin Bhatkal, Pakistani national Zia-ur-Rahman, Asadullah Akhtar, Tahaseen Akhtar and Aijaz Sheikh have been convicted. All of them are lodged in Cherlapally Central Prison.

The twin blasts, triggered by improvised explosive devices (IEDs), which were planted near Konark and Venkatadiri theatres in Dilsukhnagar area of Hyderabad in February 2013. Around 17 people were killed and more than 130 others injured in the twin blasts. The court had examined more than 157 witnesses in the case.

Bhatkal, who hails from Bhatkal village in north Karnataka, is wanted for terror attacks in Ahmedabad, Surat, Bengaluru, Pune, Delhi and Hyderabad.

The NIA has stated that the IM, banned since June 2009, was involved in the November 2007 blasts in courts of Varanasi, Faizabad and Lucknow, the Varanasi blast of July 11, 2006, the Mumbai serial blasts of July 11, 2006 and the Hyderabad twin blasts of August 25, 2007.

Besides this, Jaipur blast of May 13, 2008, the Ahmedabad serial blasts of July 26, 2008, the September 13, 2008 serial blasts in Delhi, Pune’s German Bakery blast in February 2010, the Chinnaswami stadium blast in Bangalore on April 17, 2010 and the Mumbai serial blasts of July 13, 2011 were also carried out by IM.