Historic voter turnout in Rajasthan Assembly polls

Women show their voter ID cards as they wait in a queue to cast their vote for the state assembly election in Jodhpur. PTI Photo
Women show their voter ID cards as they wait in a queue to cast their vote for the state assembly election in Jodhpur. PTI Photo

Jaipur, Dec 2 (PTI): Rajasthan districts bordering Pakistan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab recorded an increase in voter turnout in the Assembly polls which witnessed a historic turnout of 75.2 per cent.

The state’s highest ever recorded turnout far exceeded the 2008 Assembly poll’s 66.39 per cent turnout.

Jaisalmer recorded 85.26 per cent polling, Hanumangarh – 84.93 per cent, Ganganagar – 83.93 per cent, Banswara – 81.62 per cent, Chittorgarh – 81.44 per cent, Jhalawar – 80.63 per cent, Pratapgarh – 80.14 per cent, Baran – 78.35 per cent, Dholpur -77.25 per cent, Churu – 76.98 per cent, Alwar – 77.49 per cent and Bikaner 75.65 per cent, according to Chief Electoral Officers’ final tally today.

Pali recorded the minimum poll turnout of 66.23 per cent followed by Sirohi 69.59 per cent.

Out of over 4.08 crore voters, over 3.01 cr voters have exercised their franchise. Female voter turnout (75.33 per cent) was more than male voters (75.03 per cent).

939 blind voters used brail signage facility and 16,688 other blind persons cast votes with the help of their companions.

As per EC statistics, the voter turnout as compared to 2008 elections has increased in 31 out of 33 districts in the state.

The 14th State Legislative Assembly polls were held in 199 out of 200 constituencies in 33 districts of the state in which poll fortune of 2087 candidates, including Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and BJP state President Vasundhara Raje, was sealed in EVMs.

The polling went off peacefully except for some police firing in the air at a few places to restore calm. A pick up van was also set ablaze and reports of an attempt to capture a booth and malfunctioning of EVMs were reported from some places, officials said.

Polling in Churu constituency was adjourned following BSP candidate Jagdish Meghwal’s death and it would be held on December 13. The counting of votes would take place on Decmeber 8.

Following is the Rajasthan assembly’s final poll percentage district-wise:

1. Ganganagar 83.93 per cent 2. Hanumangarh 84.93 per cent 3. Bikaner 75.65 per cent 4. Churu 76.98 per cent 5. Jhunjhunu 73.79 per cent 6. Sikar 74.41 per cent 7. Jaipur 74.24 per cent 8. Alwar 77.49 per cent 9. Bharatpur 72.31 per cent 10. Dholpur 77.25 per cent 11. Kaurali 68.93 per cent

Meanwhile, in an interesting coincidence of figures, Bhilwara recorded a total poll turnout of 76.89 per cent out of which 76.89 per cent of males, and the same percentage of female voters, exercised their franchise, a CEO report said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.