First session of AP Assembly begins post bifurcation

Photo PTI
Photo PTI

Hyderabad, Jun 19 (PTI): The first session of (new) Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly began at 11.52 AM here today.

Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu took oath first as member of the Legislative Assembly, followed by his Cabinet colleagues.

Pro-tem Speaker Pativada Narayanaswamy Naidu administered the oath to newly-elected legislators.

Earlier, Narayanaswamy was sworn-in by Governor E S L Narasimhan as pro-tem Speaker.

Today, 173 MLAs are expected to take oath in the House. There are two vacancies in the 175-member House.

The House will elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker tomorrow.

The Governor will address the joint sitting of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The House will take up debate on motion of thanks to the Governor’s address on June 23 and 24.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.