EC announces poll dates for five states


election commissionOn January 4, Election Commission of India announced poll dates for five assembly states.

While announcing the poll dates, the Election Commission said that over 16 crore people will be going to vote for this year’s assembly elections for Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa.



  1. Elections in Goa will be held on February 4

Key Political Parties: BJP, AAP, Congress

2. Elections in Punjab will be held on February

Key Political Parties:  AAP, Congress and BJP

3. Polls in Uttarakhand will be held on February 15

Key Political Parties: Congress, BJP

4. Uttar Pradesh to face polls in seven phases:

Key Political Parties: Samajwadi Party, BJP, BSP

First phase on February 11

Phase II on February 15

Phase III on February 19

Phase IV on February 23

Phase V on February 27

Phase VI on March 4 and

last phase on March 8

5. Manipur will go to polls in two phases on March 4 and March 8

Key Political Parties: Congress, BJP

Counting: March 11


“Model code of conduct comes into force with immediate effect,” said Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi while speaking to the media.

“Over 16 crore voters will participate in the election. Nearly 100% voters have electoral photo id cards. There will be complete accountability of photo voter slips and colourful voter guides will be distributed to each family,” he added

“The height of voting compartments has been raised to 30 inch for secrecy and every polling station will have four posters for voting procedure and dos and don’ts,” said Zaidi.