Earth to be treated to rare astronomical show on 27 September

0
38

supermoon121

Sky watchers are getting ready for a rare astronomical highlight of the season: a total lunar eclipse and a super moon or blood moon that will happen simultaneously.

The stunning show will be visible to the naked eye, and will start next Sunday, September 27, between 5pm and 6pm PDT time (between midnight and 1am GMT on Monday).

The moon’s total eclipse will be visible in North and South America, Europe, Africa, and parts of West Asia and the eastern Pacific. A partial eclipse might be seen on early September 28 in Pakistan, Afghanistan and eastern Iran. The eclipse, however, might not be very clear from India.

The super moon means that the moon will seem 14% bigger, 30% brighter and fuller than usual. It happens because the moon will be at its closest point in its orbit around the Earth.

The last time such a phenomenon occurred was more than 30 years ago in 1982. Lunar eclipses, however, occur at least twice in a year. Since 1900 a supermoon lunar eclipse happened only five times. And the next eclipse won’t come the Earth’s way until 2033.

A total lunar eclipse will mask the moon’s larger-than-life face for more than an hour in parts of the world late in September 27, 2015.

The total eclipse will last for as many as 72 minutes i.e. one hour and 12 minutes. The total eclipse will start 10:11 pm EDT on September 27 (7:41 am IST on September 28).

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.