Djokovic powers past Murray for Australian Open title

Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic
Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic of Serbia won his fifth Australian Open title 7-6, 6-7, 6-3, 6-0 against Andy Murray of Great Britain at the Melbourne Park. Djokovic excelled in a  thrilling encounter where there was no shortage of drama. As the match  progressed the  sixth seed Murray crumbled in the eighth game of the third set, handing Djokovic three break points and then double-faulting to give the Serb a 5-3 lead.

Djokovic broke open a close match with a service break in the eighth game of the third set, winning four straight points. Djokovic coolly served out the set taking firm control on the match. When he took a 4-0 lead in the final set, he smacked his fist hard against his chest in celebration and closed in on a  famous win .

 The Brit Andy Murray did not give up easily  and  levelled against Novak Djokovic at 7-6(5) 6-7(4) after winning a marathon second set lasting 80 gruelling minutes. The set was marked by long rallies and tense battle from back of the court as both players traded shot for shot in fascinating duel. Ultimately the Serb known for his never-say-die attitude prevailed.

 Once Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal crashed out early , Djokovic – coached by former German tennis icon Boris Becker – kept his nerve and backed his solid game to emerge triumphant at Melbourne. Murray has now been runner-up four times here, losing twice previously to Djokovic in 2011 and 2013 and to Roger Federer in 2010.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.