China asserts claim over Arunachal Pradesh, renames 6 towns



In order to reaffirm its claim over Arunachal Pradesh, China for the first time in the history, has announced “standardised” official names for six places in Arunachal Pradesh, informed the state media.

According to state-run Global Times, “China’s ministry of civil affairs announced on April 14 that it had standardised in Chinese characters, Tibetan and Roman alphabet the names of six places in ‘South Tibet’, which India calls ‘Arunachal Pradesh’, in accordance with the regulations of the central government.”

After lodging strong protests with India over Dalai Lama’s visit, China has given official names to the six towns in Arunachal Pradesh using the Chinese characters, Tibetan and Roman alphabet. The official names of the six places are Wo’gyainling, Mila Ri, Qoidengarbo Ri, Mainquka, Bumo La and Namkapub Ri.

Before Dalai Lama’s visit, China had warned India of consequences if it allowed the Tibetan spiritual leader to visit Tawang and other northeastern regions.