Chhattisgarh: Election results of Bijapur to be announced first

A total of 843 candidates are contesting with an electorate of 1,39,75,470 in the last of 2 phase polls. Photo PTI
Photo: PTI

The results of the assembly elections in five states, including Chhatttisgarh, will be declared on 8 December. According to Sunil Kujur, chief election officer of Chhattisgarh, all arrangements have been made for the counting of votes at the Government Engineering College in Raipur. Votes for all constituencies will be counted on 1414 tables and 14,000 votes will be counted per round. Various political parties, including the BJP and the Congress, will send their representatives to oversee the counting of votes.

Results will be delcared first in Naxal-affected Bijapur and Kota. However, contenders for the seats of Kawardha and Kasdol will have to wait till the end to know the outcome. The least votes (69,826) have been polled in Bijapur. Hence, the counting of votes for this constituency will be over in five rounds. As 75,847 votes have been polled in Kota, counting will be over in six rounds. Results of Manendragarh will be declared third as 90,000 votes have been polled. Results of Kasdol and Kawardha will be delcared in the 17th and 16th rounds respectively as 2,21,779 were polled in the former and 2,18,897 in the latter.

The results of the four seats of Raipur will be announced before the tenth round of counting. The results of the constituencies from which the Chief Minister, five ministers, Speaker of the Vidhan Sabha and Leader of Opposition are contesting will be announced after the tenth round, while the constituencies from which the rest of the ministers are standing will be declared before. Results of the constituencies of Keshkal, Bhanupratappur, Dongargaon, Rajnandgaon, Dongargarh, Khairagarh, Pandariya, Nawagarh, Bemetara, Saja, Ahiwara, Patan, Gundardehi, Daundilohara, Sanjari Balod, Dhamtari, Kurud, Sihawa, Bindranwagarh, Rajim, Abhanpur, Dhasiwa, Bhatapara, Balauda Bazaar, Bhilaigarh, Khallari, Basna, Saraipali, Jaijaipur, Chandrapur, Masturi, Bilha, Takhtpur, Mungeli, Marwahi, Pali, Tanakhar, Korba, Rampur, Dharmjaigarh, Kharasiya, Sarangarh, Raigarh, Lailunga, Patthalgaon, Kunkuri, Jashpur, Sitapur, Ambikapur, Lundra, Samri, Ramanujganj, Pratappur, Bhatgaon and Premnagar will be announced by the tenth round.

(Translated from Tehelka Hindi by Saad Ahmed)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.