BJP’s Biren Singh takes oath as Manipur CM



BJP leader Nongthombam Biren Singh took oath as the chief minister of Manipur at the Raj Bhawan in Imphal on March 15. This is the first time that BJP has come to power in the state, which has been a Congress stronghold.

Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to N Biren Singh and 8 other ministers. Y Joykumar Singh of the National People’s Party was sworn in as Deputy Chief Minister. The ceremony was also attended by former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh.

The Governor had invited Biren Singh on March 14 to form the government after he was unanimously elected the leader of the 21-member BJP legislature party. BJP has enlisted the support of regional parties the National People’s Party (NPP) and NPF, each with four seats, and one legislator each of the Lok Janshakti Party, Trinamool Congress and Congress.

“Congratulations to Shri N Biren Singh and his team on taking the oath. I am sure this team will work tirelessly towards Manipur’s development,” PM Narendra Modi tweeted.

The BJP moved swiftly in Manipur and Goa to tie-up with small regional parties and independent legislators though in both states Congress had the maximum number of seats.

BJP chief Amit Shah and Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu were to attend the swearing-in ceremony, but their plane had to return to Delhi after it developed a technical fault.