Bihar polls: Nitish Kumar announces alliance’s list of candidates



Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar, on 23 September, announced a list of 242 candidates of the Mahagathbandhan or grand alliance for the Bihar assembly polls.

“We have tried to represent all sections of the society. We took our time in deciding the candidates,” said Kumar in Patna.

“Everybody, including Laluji, agreed that I should announce the list of the candidates,” he said. Flanked by RJD Bihar president Ramchandra Purve, Congress state unit chief Ashok Choudhary and JDU state chief, he dismissed reports of a rift in the alliance.

“There are no complaints… We want to make it clear that development is our biggest slogan for the polls,” said Kumar.

When asked about Bihar being 21st on the “ease of doing business” list for states, Kumar said, “It’s a deliberate attempt to show Bihar in poor light.”

Meanwhile, the Congress has finalised 15 candidates of the its share of 41 seats in the upcoming Bihar polls. Almost all sitting MLAs have got the party ticket, said sources.

For the first phase of the Assembly polls, which will take place on October 12, the last day of filing nomination is 23 September.

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, before leaving for the US, had kickstarted the party campaign for the upcoming polls.

In the seat distribution, JD(U) and RJD to contest 101 seats each while Congress will put up candidates in 41 seats for the October-November Bihar Assembly poll.

Keeping their vote bank in mind, the Mahagathbandhan list has 56% candidates from the OBCs, 16% SCs and STs, 16% forward castes and 14% Muslims.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.