Bihar polls 2015: Second phase of polling begins



The battle for Bihar entered its second phase on 16 October, in 32 constituencies of six Maoist-hit districts— Kaimur, Rohtas, Arwal, Jehanabad, Aurangabad and Gaya—for which voting will take place in 9,119 polling stations.

As many as 86 lakh voters are likely to exercise their franchise, to decide the fate of 456 candidates, including 32 women candidates. The second phase of voting is a challenge to the security personnel, as six districts are heavily affected by Maoist movement.

Additional chief electoral officer R Lakshmanan said, due to security concerns, voting time has been curtailed by one hour and two hours, respectively in 23 constituencies—voting would end at 3 pm in 11 constituencies and at 4 pm in 12 others.  On nine seats, the scheduled voting is from 7 am to 5 pm.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to motivate voters to exercise their voting rights.

The NDA sharpened its attack over a sting operation of a JD(U) minister Awadhesh Prasad Kushwaha purportedly accepting bribe, while the Mahagatbandhan attacked Modi for his delayed reaction on the Dadri lynching case.

In view of heightened security concerns, 993 companies of Central Para Military forces and Bihar Police have been deployed for security purposes. Around 334 companies would be in service in Gaya, 201 in Rohtas, and 193 in Aurangabad.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.