Bihar Polls Live: 49 % Recorded Till 4 PM


Bihar Election 2015

In the third phase of Bihar election, which began today at 7 am, more than 49% polling has been reported till 4 PM from most of the 50 constituencies.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar and BJP leader Sushil Modi cast their votes at Veterinary College ground booth, booth No. 2 in Bakhtiyarpur and Rajendra Nagar, Patna respectively. According to election commission bulling, the figures for the six districts voting till 9am on Wednesday were: Patna 7.41%, Vaishali 13.32%, Saran 10.29%, Nalanda 8.80%, Buxar 9.41% and Bhojpur 6.61%.

Voting was started in 14,170 polling stations spread across six districts of Patna, Vaishali, Saran, Nalanda, Buxar and Bhojpur. According to Additional Chief Electorate Officer R Lakshmanan, the pollling will conclude at 4 pm in 10 constituencies due to security reasons and at 5 pm in the remaining 40 constituencies.

An electorate of 1,45,93,980 voters would exercise their franchise in the third phase, including 78,51,593 male voters and 67,06,687 female voters. A total of 808 candidates are in the fray, out of which 71 are female. Lalu two sons -Tej Pratap Yadav is contesting from Mahau seats and Tejaswi Yadav from Raghopur seat in Vaishali district.

At around 9.40 am, RJD chief Lalu Prasad, his wife Rabri Devi and daughter Misa Bharti cast their vote at Patna’s Veterinary College ground booth. Lalu Prasad’s son Tejaswi Yadav casts his vote in Patna.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.