Bihar Election: Fourth Phase Concludes With 58% Turnout


Bihar-polls1The fourth phase of the Bihar’s assembly polls ended peacefully, on Sunday, with around 58 percent of the 14 million electorate voting. Both NDA and Grand Alliance Leaders felt that they are ahead, as polling ended in 55 of the 243 constituencies in seven districts.

The voting percentage recorded an increase of more than 3%, as compared to the 2010 elections, and voting percentage in the second phase was recorded at 55%. Women voters, like the earlier three phases, outnumbered men with a turnout of 60.40% against the male turnout 54.20%.

In the 2010 elections, out of 55 seats, BJP had won 26, JD(U) had won 24, Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had won two seats and Independents got three seats.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer R. Lakshmanan said, the exercise passed off peacefully, including in areas with a Maoist stronghold. About 55.32 percent voting took place till 4 p.m. — and 58 percent when it got over an hour later.

According to the police, the polling was peaceful, barring minor clashes in some areas. Over two dozen “anti-social elements” were arrested for violating the model code of conduct and threatening election officials.

After the Delhi elections, the Bihar elections are the most significant political battle. BJP had lost the Delhi assembly election to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in February.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.