24 more eminent personalities join the list of #AwardWapsi protestors

Filmmaker Kundan Shah, of Janne Bhi Do Yaaron fame
Filmmaker Kundan Shah, of Janne Bhi Do Yaaron fame

Filmmakers, including Kundan Shah,  who received an award for the 1983 cult classic, Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron, along with Saeed Mirza of Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyun Aata Hai Fame, have joined to the ongoing “Award Wapsi” campaign.

The campaign which started after a man got killed in Dadri over the rumors of eating beef at his home, has taken a new turn, after filmmakers, following the league of other eminent intellectuals, have started returning their national awards as a mark of protest against the rising sense intolerance, in the country.

This Award Wapsi campaign is also in conjunction with the agitated FTII students who were protesting against the appointment of Gajendra Chauhan as the chairman of the institute. 10 prominent filmmakers joined in to support the students, by returning their awards.

Many filmmakers returned their awards in the press conference held earlier including, Anand Patwardhan, Dipankar Banerjee, Paresh Kamdar, Nishtha Jain, Kirti Nakhwa, Harshavardhan Kulkarni, Hari Nair, Rakesh Sharma, Indraneel Lahiri and Lipika Singh Darai.

Others intellectuals who have returned their awards are Arundhati Roy, Virendra Saini, Ajay Raina, Ranjan Palit, Manoj Lobo, Tapan Bose, Sanjay Kak, Madhusree Dutta, Pradip Krishen, Shripraksh, Vivek Sachidanand, PM Satheesh, Tarun Bharitiya, Amitabha Chakravarty, Rafeeq Ellias, Sudhakar Reddy Yakkanti, Anwar Jamal, Sudheer Palsane, Ajay Raina, Manoj Nitharwal, Irene Dhar Malik and Satya Raj Nagpaul.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.